• You are here:
  • Home


Premiere of Tchaikovsky's ballet The Sleeping Beauty

15 January 1890

Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky's ballet The Sleeping Beauty, Op. 66 was premiered in St Petersburg. It was based on the Brothers Grimm version of Perrault's tale called 'Dornröschen', with other folk tales incorprated into the ballet by the theatre director Ivan Vsevolozhsky.

    Introduction (Allegro vivo - Andantino)


    March (Moderato)


    Scene Dansante (Moderato con moto)




Mozart wrote a letter praising one of his pupils

15 January 1787

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart wrote a letter to his friend Gottfried von Jacquin praising Gottfried's sister Franziska's progress as one of his few pupils. "I can truly say that I've never had a pupil who was as hard-working and who showed so much enthusiasm as she does - indeed, I'm looking forward to teaching her again with what limited ability I have." Mozart was known to dislike teaching, regarding it as a necessary evil, however he was impressed by this particular pupil. It is believed that he dedicated his Klegelstatt Trio for Clarinet, Viola and Piano to Franziska.

    I. Prelude: Vagaroso e mistico


    II. Fugue: Poco apressado


    I. Allegro moderato




Mozart performed all six of his quartets

15 January 1785

One day after completing his last quartet, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart performed all six of his quartets for their dedicatee, Joseph Haydn and some other friends.

    I. Allegro vivace assai


    II. Menuetto: Allegro (Allegretto)


    III. Andante cantabile